Museum-Worthy Titles

Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl, is by far one of my favorite, and most consistently done, over the course of three different blogs, memes. Each week, a prompt for TTT inspires bloggers to create lists based on that week’s topic.

This Tuesday’s subject is ten extraordinary book titles. The list idea was submitted by Elise at A Book and a Cup.

I absolutely love the title The Library at Mount Char, not only is the book seemingly about a library, it’s apparently located at Mount Char, which is eerie in itself!

Scott Hawkins’ long tale, about which I know nothing except I want to read it, beckons to me with its cover as well.

Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell is not only a book I’ve been dying to read forever, it possesses one of the most iconic titles I’ve ever heard.

While I’ve seen the movie version, starring the fabulous Vivien Leigh, Mitchell’s classic not only defines Southern plantation culture during the reign of the American Civil War, it’s home to some of the most amazingly well-developed characters I’ve ever met!

Say Cheese and Die!, by R.L. Stine as part of his classic Goosebumps series, has always been one of my favorites, not only because of its excellent title and cover (LOL), but because I remember its story being really entertaining!

Not only is Leo Tolstoy’s classic Anna Karenina one of my most favorite books of all time, it possesses a title that simply, yet decadently, rolls off the tongue. I remember discovering I had been mispronouncing the title my entire life upon my discovery of it when it appeared as a chosen book of Oprah’s Book Club! I like the way it’s really pronounced better!

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is my favorite in J.K. Rowling’s iconic series. Harry Potter’s name in itself is so well-known and is the perfect moniker for the bespectacled boy, who works to solve the mystery of the elusive Azkaban.

Girl, Wash Your Face: Stop Believing the Lies about Who You Are So You Can Become the Person You Were Meant to Be is such an excellent title. While I have yet to read Rachel Hollis’ self-help tome, it’s coming up soon in my library queue!

Its title sucks me in with the very first words – girl, wash your face! I need to start somewhere and making a routine of washing my face DAILY is a great place to start!

I have never read Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls; however, I definitely want to change that fact soon. While I’m pretty positive the story follows a boy and his dog, I’m admittedly not very sure. I do know that the title draws me to it in a major way.

One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez is, in my humble opinion, a terribly boring book; however, it possesses a gorgeous title. Prior to my reading of the classic, my imagination ran wild pondering possible plot points. Unfortunately, the book just doesn’t live up to its name.

Pet Sematary by Stephen King has always fascinated me not only because of its creep show story line, but because of the spelling of its title – Sematary – the purposeful misspelling gives me chills even more than the cover I chose.

A title that beckons me to read the book it names is Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly. The late chef and author always struck me with his unapologetic and dynamic personality and the title of his first book gets those traits across loud and clear.

Tuesday is not gone with the wind, Maggie

25 thoughts on “Museum-Worthy Titles

  1. Oh my god, YES to Goosebumps. Say Cheese and Die was one of my favourites, and I also loved The Curse of Camp Cold Lake. I must re-read them all again soon.

    Like

    1. Yes! It is one of my goals for 2020 to reread every Goosebumps book possible! The Curse of Camp Cold Lake is a good one – I love that title too! Happy reading!

      Like

  2. Say Cheese and Die! I remember that book – I used to see it in the school library all the time and I loved the cover. I’ve never read or watched Gone with the Wind, but I’d like to give either the book or the film (or both!) a try one day. Great list!

    Like

    1. Gone with the Wind is such an amazing and – I believe – historically correct story! I’ve seen the movie a handful of times and love it, but I can’t wait to read the book!

      Like

    1. Aw, I had a bad feeling Where the Red Fern Grows is a sad one…I can’t believe I’ve never read it – unless I did read it and blocked out the sadness! LOL! I agree on the Goosebumps books! They are so silly that I love them! LOL! Dang, there are some awesome titles in that series! Happy reading!

      Like

  3. I’m glad I’m not the only person who didn’t like 100 Years of Solitude. I don’t remember much about it other than I didn’t like it. Say Cheese and Die has a magnificent cover.

    Like

    1. I’m also glad someone else out there couldn’t stand One Hundred Years of Solitude! I absolutely hated it, even though I was so positive it would be so good; it seriously didn’t make sense! Oh, I love all of the Goosebumps covers! This one is my all-time favorite!

      Like

  4. “Gone with the Wind” is a great title! Don’t love the story (as a film anyway, never read the novel), but I like that it makes a person curious. 🙂 Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland.

    Like

    1. You’re so welcome for the visit! Thank YOU for visiting me too! The movie version of Gone with the Wind is SO LONG! LOL! I have high hopes of adoring the actual story much more than I do the movie, which I like a lot – when I have time to watch in its entirety! Happy reading! 😀

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started